Term 2 art update

So I recently started to research tidbits about character design. I wanted to try out a couple things so I drew up and coloured a few non-human faces. Non-human because I felt that allowed me more creative liberty, also because I loathe drawing noses with a passion. At first, most of them looked like hot garbage and I wasn’t quite sure why, but then I remembered colour theory so, I tried that out and I feel they look a lot better. I wish I’d kept the old copies to show the difference! Also, I feel like I got a lot better at drawing mouths, I wanted to give most of them an open mouthed expression because I had never included teeth before. I have been learning about different facial expressions during autism therapy and tried to make them look as though they are feeling certain emotions. The first set are horrified (better done in A). The second set are anxious. The third set are shocked. The fourth set are angry. J and L are happy, I and K are apprehensive.

I tried to make each face look different but to follow certain themes. As if they may appear in the same show but wouldn’t be mistaken for each other. My favorites are G and H. I plan on redoing B, D, E and J. I feel like I got B and E’s head shape wrong, I want to give D some grey speckles like A and E’s pupils are far to large.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started